

Previous
Next
Index
Thread
Do / prevent X unless Y

-
To: Public Netbase NewsAgent
-
Subject: Do / prevent X unless Y
-
From: Woking Library <gi97@dial.pipex.com>
-
Date: Sat, 29 Jun 1996 17:47:41 -0700 (PDT)
-
Article: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules.67783
-
Score: 100

When do you pay the cost of Y in cases like:
Vodalian Mage
Lim Duls Hex
Seizures
Soul Barrier
Presumably as part of the resolution of the appropriate effect?
Is this still true where the X is damage and the Y is damage
prevention?
Presumably if the source is destroyed after X, but before Y then
you can still pay Y (eg Naf's Asp destroyed after it damages. It
could still do extra damage and extra damage could still be prevented
by paying 1 mana)
Prevent X unless you do/pay Y: timing slightly different?
eg Brainwash. Do you have to pay the 3 mana before assigning the
attacker, after assignment, or as a cost to assign?
eg Drought. Is the sacrifice done before anouncement, after or
as an additional cost during anouncement?
--David



